Divisional Finance Leaders

Welcome to our Divisional Finance Leaders resource page where campus faculty and staff can identify their Divisional Finance Leaders and our Divisional Finance Leaders have access to the tools they need to get their work done.

Find a Divisional Finance Leader | Access the Divisional Finance Leader Concierge Site

The Divisional Finance Leader (DFL) develops and implements their division's budget process, advises their leadership team on key budgetary decisions, and serves as an advocate for the needs and priorities of their division. More specifically they:

  • Manage the development and execution of the division’s multi-year and annual budget plans. Support the budget submission to the EVCP and preparation for the annual budget hearing. Advocate the division’s needs and priorities.
  • Advise their leadership on key budgetary decisions, e.g., allocating campus support, aligning resources, making budgetary trade-offs to meet division’s strategic priorities.
  • Engage in campus financial planning and initiatives. Work with the campus to review their division’s financial status and maintain the budget process.
  • Periodically (e.g., monthly or quarterly) review the division’s financial status to address issues and foster informed and effective decision-making.
  • Establish a process for the ongoing monitoring of budget-to-actuals and meaningful financial management reporting within the division.
  • Establish internal financial control (e.g., SAS115) and ensure financial procedures are within compliance.
  • Authorize, or empower delegates to authorize, CalPlanning security requests and provide local tool assistance. Go to the list of local support contacts to find your division's CalPlanning Access Provider and CalPlanning Tool Assistant.

Find a DFL

Administration Elena Wen Jiang CFO for Vice Chancellor, Administration wjiang@berkeley.edu
Academic & Space Planning John Scroggs Chief of Staff scroggs@berkeley.edu
Berkeley Art Museum & Pacific Film Archive Rebecca Hoag Business Services Senior Analyst rhoag@berkeley.edu
Berkeley Law

Shivani Bhatia, Interim

Patrick Richards, Interim

Director Business and Financial Services

Financial Analyst



Cal Performances Calvin Eng CFO ceng@berkeley.edu
College of Environmental Design Jennifer Sang Assistant Dean, Finance and Administration jsang@berkeley.edu
College of Chemistry Suzanne Sutton Assistant Dean, Finance & Administration suttons@berkeley.edu
College of Engineering Dat Le Assistant Dean, Finance & Administration dat@berkeley.edu
College of Natural Resources Babs Lane Assistant Dean, Administration babs@berkeley.edu
Equity & Inclusion  Marsha Jaeger, Interim Assistant Vice Chancellor for Educational Partnerships mjaeger@berkeley.edu
Finance Kevin Mack Financial Planning, Analysis, & Engagement kevinkmack@berkeley.edu
Goldman School of Public Policy Merle Hancock CFO mah@berkeley.edu
Graduate Division Michael Ferencz Chief Administrative Officer mfgrad@berkeley.edu
Graduate School of Education Alex Luna Assistant Dean, Administration aluna@berkeley.edu
Haas School of Business Joacim Benitez, Interim Senior Financial Analyst joacim_benitez@haas.berkeley.edu
Intercollegiate Athletics David Secor CFO davidsecor@berkeley.edu
L&S Arts & Humanities Anna Weidman Budget Officer aweidman@berkeley.edu
L&S Biological Sciences Lee Borrowman Budget Officer ltaj@berkeley.edu
L&S Core Terrence Ireland CFO irelandt@berkeley.edu
L&S Math & Physical Sciences Wanda Nieters Budget Officer wnieters@berkeley.edu
L&S Social Sciences Nicole Cernok Budget Officer nicole.cernok@berkeley.edu
L&S Undergraduate Division Jean Delaney Director jdelaney@berkeley.edu
Office of the Chancellor Wanda Ellison Crocket Deputy Associate Chancellor & COO wellisoncrockett@berkeley.edu
Office of the EVCP & Academic Senate Jules Freedman Coordinator of Budget and Administration jjf1@berkeley.edu
Office of the Faculty Carolyn Capps Chief of Staff capps@berkeley.edu
Research, Policy, Planning & Administration David Castellanos Budget Director dcastell@berkeley.edu
School of Information Jenny Collins Assistant Dean & Chief Administrative Officer jenny@ischool.berkeley.edu
School of Journalism Roia Ferrazares Assistant Dean roia@berkeley.edu
School of Optometry Monica Porter Assistant Dean of Operations porter@berkeley.edu
School of Public Health Emily Schwarz CFO eschwarz@berkeley.edu
School of Social Welfare Heidi Wagner Assistant Dean, Administration hwagner@berkeley.edu
Student Affairs Tom Lowry CFO thomaslowry@berkeley.edu
Summer Session & Study Abroad Moon Jang-Shinn Chief Administrative Officer mshinn@berkeley.edu
UC Library Su-Lin Shum Budget Director slshum@berkeley.edu
Undergraduate Education Moon Jang-Shinn Chief Administrative Officer mshinn@berkeley.edu
University Extension Scott Shireman COO scottshireman@berkeley.edu
University Development & Alumni Relations Linda Moran Director, Financial Planning & Analysis ljmf@berkeley.edu

DFL weekly updates

DFL workgroups

DFL forums